Important Facts About Auto Accident Laws (Florida)
Have you ever thought about how you are risking an auto accident every time you drive? In the year 2010, just Hillsborough County, Florida recorded a whopping 17,480 accidents that were traffic related. The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration said that in 2012 the accident fatalities went up by 7%. You are not safe even if you were a pedestrian, a cyclist or a biker as they too get involved in road related accidents. An auto accident lawyer can help you with your claim. Given below are some important laws that every Florida Citizen needs to know to protect themselves.
- You may or may not be responsible for the accident but your insurance company is liable to pay you and your passengers, your medical costs and lost wages through the Personal Injury Protection (PIP). An auto accident lawyer can guide you through this.
- By Florida Law you need only carry Personal Injury Protection (PIP) and property damage insurance when you drive. There is no need to possess bodily injury coverage to compensate the injuries you may cause to the others in an accident. It may cause trouble if your coverage is not large enough. You should also consider a no deductible PIP while looking to buy an insurance. You might also need to purchase medical payment coverage which will cover the 20 percent that is not covered by PIP.
- Property Damage Liability protects you legally if you are sued after an accident. It covers you if you in case you damage their property, their vehicle or their fence and/or home.
- Florida is called a no fault state which means that your insurance company is supposed to take care of your medical costs irrespective of who was to be blamed for the accident. It is necessary that you call your own insurance company even if you are the victim as PIP will make sure that your claims will be answered only through them.
- A Pure Comparative Fault Rule is applied in Florida through which an injured person can claim the damages even if he was 99 percent at fault. The amount will be deducted by the amount of fault.
- The Statute of Limitation needs you to file the lawsuit or go for settlements within the state time limits. The time is considered from the day of the car accident. For any injury the Statute of limitation is up to four years and for any property damage, the Statute of limitation is up to four years too.
- When in a car accident, it is important to note the speed and distance traveled as they are important to prove your opponent’s negligence. These must be documented immediately.
- They may also defend themselves by saying that more than one driver can be deemed negligent in an accident. This might the victim’s chances in a trail.
- The insurance companies may argue that the injuries were pre-existing and that the accident was of low impact. You may need proper medical evidence to defend yourself.
Hopefully, you will never be in a position in which you need the legal services of an auto accident lawyer, but in the event that you do, please give Hoag Law Firm a call or complete your online Free Case Evaluation. A free consultation can help you understand your rights. With honest advice and an experienced attorney at your side, you can recover the largest possible settlement and get back to living your life.